Music Monday: Coheed & Cambria – Year of the Black Rainbow

Album: Year of the Black Rainbow by Coheed & Cambria

Album Cover
Year of the Black Rainbow

Released: April 13th, 2010

Band Info:
Coheed & Cambria is an American progressive rock band that was formed in 1995 in Nyak, New York and released their first full-length album, The Second Stage Turbine Blade, in 2002. Fraught with line-up changes in the mid-late 2000’s, the band currently consists of founding members Claudio Sanchez (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards), Travis Stever (lead guitar, backing vocals), Josh Eppard (drums, keyboards, backing vocals), and bassist Zach Cooper who joined the band in 2011. Coheed & Cambria are known for their use of odd time signatures, concept albums based on a science fiction story by Sanchez, and their rabid fanbase. The band has released eight studio albums; the first seven albums all focus on the Kilgannon family and their role in the war to save the worlds they live on from the evil Tri-mage Wilhelm Ryanwith, while 2015’s The Color Before the Sun is the only non-concept record. The band returned to the sci-fi concept with their newest album, Vaxis – Act 1: The Unheavenly Creatures, which was released on October 5th.

Band Photo
Coheed & Cambria circa 2010

Continue reading “Music Monday: Coheed & Cambria – Year of the Black Rainbow”